food

Lunch Bowls

Here’s an odd fun fact about me: I probably eat ~90% of my meals out of bowls.  I don’t know what it is, but I just love a bowl of yummy food so much more than a plate.  Maybe it’s the simple fact that plates are big (and can sometimes lead me to over serve myself) or maybe it’s the fact that I got some new bowls that are so much more colorful and fun than any other dishes I have.  Whatever the reason, bowls are the way to go.

Oatmeal for breakfast is a daily occurrence, so the bowl choice is obvious there.  For lunch, I love making grain bowls with quinoa, rice, or gluten free pasta topped with any and all of the veggies (and avocado) in my kitchen.  A base of quinoa, serving of protein, lots of roasted veggies, and drizzle of a homemade dressing (usually something lemon!) makes such a satisfying lunch.  Another bonus of bowl meals? You can easily pack them in a mason jar for food on the go!  As spring semesters are starting, and work has been in full swing for a few weeks now post-holiday, I thought I would post some inspiration for good and nutritious lunch bowls.  Here are combos I’ve had (and loved) that you can easily make for a yummy packed lunch – or relaxed meal at home!  Let me know if you try them out! (and follow @powerdbypeanutbutter on instagram for more inspiration)

FullSizeRender

tri color quinoa, ground turkey, kale, roasted sweet potato, and a dollop of cranberry sauce (the BEST condiment)

FullSizeRender-2

quinoa, spiraled zucchini, topped with a poached egg (check out that yolk)

FullSizeRender-5

tuna salad (with mustard-no mayo), hummus, avocado, roasted acorn squash (YUM a favorite) and a side of Mary’s Gone Crackers (loving these crackers lately)

FullSizeRender-7

quinoa, sautéed kale, roasted sweet potato and white potato, breakfast sausage (from my farmer’s market!) and a side of a book I did not finish…oops

FullSizeRender-3

quinoa, mashed sweet potato, roasted red pepper, guac

FullSizeRender-6

brown rice pasta, sautéed greens, sweet potato, tofu (special guest appearance by my kale sweatshirt)

FullSizeRender-8

brown rice, mashed pinto beans, roasted white beets, kale

FullSizeRender-4

spiraled zucchini, roasted sweet potato and butternut squash, sauerkraut, tahini dressing, avocado, side of nut thins crackers

IMG_1272

quinoa, collard greens, chickpeas, mashed butternut squash (confession – this one was actually dinner but would be a delicious lunch as well!)

 

happy lunching!

Leave a Reply

