food · Uncategorized

Build a Better Piece of Toast

Toast at it’s simplest is a pretty plain Jane snack or side.  Toast is the sidekick to your killer omelet or the vehicle for avocado.  While it can get pushed aside as just a helper for other foods, I actually love toast as a snack.  When I say toast I don’t mean bread and butter, I mean fancy shmancy upgraded toast (Ok, Ok, not that fancy, but fancy enough to be a snack you look forward to and can totally instagram).  It only takes a couple favorite ingredients to make your piece of bread (or heck, even a rice cake) a flavor bomb of delicious and satisfying foods to power you past the 3pm slump.  Read on for my formula for perfect toast!

IMG_1883.JPG
Ezekiel bread with peanut butter, banana, frozen blueberries, and a sprinkle of hemp seeds

Base: usually one of 3 options: gluten free toast (Food for life brand is good for toasting…you have to toast it), Ezekiel bread (Food for life again is my go-to!), or a rice cake!

Spread: slather something creamy on top of the base layer.  For me this is nut butter 99.9% of the time.  Almond butter or peanut butter are my top choices, and I love to make my own so I can control the texture (creamy please!)

Fruit: I love getting in some produce with each meal and snack so fruit is a must for toast toppings.  If I only have frozen berries I’ll warm some raspberries or blueberries and plop them on.  Banana is a common choice and so are fresh strawberries.

Extras: A little more texture kicks everything up a notch.  Chia seeds, ground flax, shredded unsweetened coconut, hemp seeds, and good old chocolate chips all frequent my creations.

IMG_1885.jpg
Tahini and PB on Ezekiel bread topped with strawberries and frozen blueberries plus ground flax (and a sprinkle of chocolate chips after I took the picture because I have a sweet tooth!)

 

Now go forth and conquer your hunger with some upgraded toast!  And tag @powerdbypeanutbutter on your instagram creations – I’m always looking for more fun combos 🙂

Leave a Reply

