food · Uncategorized

Up your oatmeal

Good old oatmeal….what does that make you think of?  Do oats sound like a total drag?  Do you immediately picture your childhood – watching dino eggs ‘hatch’ in your hot bowl of oats (when that crazy magic was the only part of eating oatmeal you actually enjoyed)?  Do you actually like oatmeal now?  That might sound like an odd prospect, but for me it’s true!  I absolutely love oatmeal and eat it for breakfast almost daily.  Now is when you might be asking yourself, “every  DAY!? Doesn’t she get bored of that stuff?”  The answer is no!  I don’t get bored of oats, and I’m about to tell you why.

IMG_1929

I treat oatmeal the way most people treat froyo…plain and simple oats fill the bowl, and then I load on the toppings!  Options are nearly endless when it comes to topping off your bowl – here are my favorites:

nut butter: this is a staple.  I pretty much always have either peanut butter, almond butter, or sunbutter mixed into my oats.  Adding a spoonful of nut butter not only gives you a great consistency, but it also increases the protein content of your meal.

seeds: Chia, hemp, flax….they all rotate in making appearances in my breakfast bowl.  Chia seeds are a must in overnight oats because they thicken the mixture and make it nice and spoonable.  Hemp seeds area another protein source, and flax gives you great healthy fats!

fruit: I always always always add a lot of fruit into my oatmeal.  It’s so great to start of your day with some produce!  Usually I mix in some frozen berries (raspberries or blueberries are my favorites), but I also switch it up based on whatever fruit is in the house.  That could be banana, strawberry, kiwis, or (not a fruit) sometimes even mashed baked sweet potato!  I know that sounds weird but drizzle some maple syrup on top and you’ll love it!

IMG_1859.jpg

Those are my major must haves, and some other random mix ins might be half a scoop of Vega protein powder (if I’m really hungry!) or unsweetened flaked coconut.  Now I challenge you to make breakfast your hearty morning sundae bar and go crazy with some oats!  Tag me on instagram @powerdbypeanutbutter to show off your creations!

5 thoughts on “Up your oatmeal

Leave a Reply

