Uncategorized

Foodie podcasts

During the fall of 2014 I was interning in NYC and commuting 5 days a week from the Jersey suburbs to get to my job.  It took me about 1.5 hours to commute each way.  Needless to say, I was not a big fan of that lifestyle.  While the trip was long, it was an internship I really wanted so I needed a way to make it work.  That struggle is what led me to my podcast addiction.

Sitting on the bus into work was so much more relaxing when I was totally distracted by a funny or captivating podcast.  Now I have a new job and a commute of 3 minutes, but I still listen to podcasts when I am out on a morning walk or just relaxing at home on a weekend afternoon.  Shockingly (I kid), a lot of the podcasts I like relate to food in some way or another.  Here are a few favorites you might be interested in, too!  (and there are tons more on my phone that aren’t food related…maybe a part 2 will be coming)

One Part Podcast– This was one of my first favorites!  Jessica Murnane does great interviews with all sorts of motivational and fun people.  The tone of the show is inspiring and deep, but also has a good dose of laughs and casual banter that keep things from feeling too heavy.  Jessica suffers from endometriosis and manages her condition through her diet.  Because of this, there are a lot of guests from the food/nutrition world, and at the end of her show she always asks guests for a favorite plant based recipe that they have tried or want to try.  This little tidbit at the end is a fun addition and good kitchen inspiration (bonus – she’s coming out with a cookbook!)

Psychology of Eating– This podcast touches on so many ways that psychology relates to eating habits.  As a future dietitian, and someone who is considering the possibility of working in the field of eating disorder recovery, it is so interesting to learn about the mental side of dietary habits.  Another thing I love about this podcast is that some episodes are less than 10 minutes, while others are over an hour.  Depending on how much time I have, I can get a small dose of info or really settle in for a longer episode.

The Sporkful– I would describe this podcast as plain old fun. I have found myself laughing out loud in the car while listening to debates about whether or not to toast a bagel or how to eat a muffin.  Dan Pashman shares his sometimes ridiculous but always scientifically thought out food strategies and theories with such passion that you can’t help but become enthralled. “It’s not for foodies, it’s for eaters,” so this one is for everyone.

Nutrition Matters– This show covers so many useful nutrition topics!  I have come away from episodes with new knowledge about anything from eating disorders to facts about dairy.  There is always a good amount of psychology or science to get you really thinking while passing the time.  I have lots of saved episodes that I plan on listening to soon!

 

Anyone else a podcast fan?  What are your favorites? (I’m always looking for more!)

2 thoughts on “Foodie podcasts

Leave a Reply

