food · thoughts

What I Ate – Thanksgiving Edition!

I call it curiosity, but maybe it’s nosiness, that makes me love reading WIAW posts from other bloggers.  It’s so fun for me to get meal ideas or just see a ‘day in the life’ of someone whose writing I love to read.  Leading up to Thanksgiving, there is an overload of information about the best recipes, what to eat before the big meal, favorite desserts, etc. etc.  I thought it would be fun to share what I actually did eat on turkey day! (on a Friday instead of a Wednesday, oh well)

I am in no way saying that what I eat is ideal, or that anyone else should be eating this way.  Nutrition is so individual – and so are preferences!  So stay true to you 🙂 But if you are like me and love seeing a peek into others’ lives (and plates!) read on…

img_3675

I woke up pretty early despite not setting my alarm, but that was great because I had time to squeeze in a workout before the parade started!  I was feeling energetic so I grabbed a snack of a rice cake with half a banana and headed to the basement to complete a Kayla workout (killer).

img_3676

Post workout it was time for a real, hearty breakfast!  I sliced up the other half of my banana and added it to my daily oatmeal (I eat oatmeal 95% of the time and don’t even care if that’s boring).  This bowl was steel cut oats, ground flax, blueberries, banana, and a drizzle of maple syrup.

img_3677

Hunger was real, and a mid-morning snack definitely had to happen (but seriously, when does it not happen?).  Avocado bread was my snack of choice because I was feeling impatient and didn’t want to wait for toast.  I sliced up half a gigantic avocado and put it on Ezekiel bread and topped it all with salt and pepper. (a little too much pepper…my lips were burning after)

img_3678

I am basically incapable of skipping of a meal so, yes, I did have a full lunch before the big dinner.  We had leftover brown rice and peas in the fridge from dinner the night before so I heated that up, added some deli turkey (lol turkey before turkey?) and scooped it up with my favorite chips, Utz multigrain scoops!  Then I finished the chip bits and crumbs that were still in the bag.  It was kind of a lot of chips, no shame.

img_3685

DINNER!  Mom whipped up an amazing Thanksgiving spread.  I had a little bit of almost everything: shaved brussel sprout salad, sautéed green beans, stuffing, roasted rainbow carrots, roasted sweet potatoes, cranberry sauce, a teensy slice of turkey (I could honestly do without the turkey – it’s all about the sides) and a roll!  I was too stuffed for seconds, but the perk of hosting = leftovers!!

img_3679

There was lots of couch lounging after dinner, but we all rallied for dessert.  I didn’t snap a pic of my plate (the food coma was setting in) but I had a sliver of this minimalist baker pumpkin pie and a couple italian bakery cookies.  Followed by more couch lounging.

But of course that wasn’t the last of it!  Dessert round two had to happen (as it does most holidays for this sweet tooth) so I went for a few bites of pie and more cookies around 10pm before heading upstairs to zone out and eventually sleep.

So there you have it!  A nutrition student’s Thanksgiving day of eats.  What were your favorite turkey day dishes?  Does anyone else always need that late night sweet?

Leave a Reply

